Contact us for details about how you can meet the state’s mandatory 5-hour pre-registration class. RIBA offers the class via Zoom each week. Offering the best value for the best price, our Association gives you an extra benefit when you take the 5-hr class with us! Your enrollment comes with the option of a complimentary trial membership in RIBA that’s complete with no-cost OSHA safety training, lead certificate trainings, hundreds of credited professional development courses, industry information and all the resources the RI Builders Association can offer you.*
How to become a new contractor in Rhode Island
Rhode Island law requires anyone who is in the business of commercial construction, residential home construction, alterations, or remodeling, to be registered with the State of Rhode Island Contractors’ Registration and Licensing Board (CRLB).
A five (5) – hour pre-Education Course is required for all new applicants performing work on any residential structures throughout the state of Rhode Island.
Here are additional details from the State to assist new contractors with the registration process in Rhode Island
In addition to your pre-regulation course (see above), you will need a $500,000 certificate of liability insurance indicating R.I.C.R.L.B. as certificate holder. The RI Builders Association can help you obtain this needed insurance via the Builders Insurance Group. You will learn more when you contact us.
Once you have your educational certificate and your certificate of liability insurance then you can apply using the State’s Online Platform.
You need to pay the State of RI the Contractor Registration Fee, which is $150. You can pay this fee via credit or debit card, or e-check using the Viewpoint Cloud platform in the online application or, if you choose to mail a check, it must be made payable to RICRLB and mailed to:
RICRLB, 560 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, RI 02886.
- Please include your Viewpoint Application Number on the check itself. If paying by check (not an e-check), allow up to 10 business days for processing. Please note that R.IC.R.L.B. does not accept cash.
If your company is a corporation or Limited Liability Company, you must be registered with Rhode Island Secretary of State. No documentation of corporate registration is required when submitting your registration, as the R.I.C.R.L.B. will validate this information as part of your application review.
Out-of-State Resident Applicants
In addition to the instructions above, all out-of-state applicants require an “Agent of Service” registered in Rhode Island. The RI Builders Association can serve as your registered agent if needed. We can discuss this when you call us at 401-438-7400, Monday through Friday from 8:30am-4:30 pm. After hours, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
If you have an out-of-state corporation or LLC, you must be registered with the Secretary of State (401-222-3040).
Once you have completed your pre-registration educational course work at RIBA, and obtained your insurance, you can then proceed to apply for your State Registration online using this link: https://ri-crlb.viewpointcloud.com/categories/1079
Now let’s talk training value!
Offering the best value for the best price, RI Builders Association gives you an extra benefit when you take the 5-hr class with us!
Your enrollment comes with the option of a complimentary trial membership* in RIBA that’s complete with no-cost OSHA safety training, lead certificate trainings, and hundreds of professional development credited courses; industry information; a collective voice on issues and regulations impacting the industry; and all the resources the RI Builders Association can offer to help you successfully build your business.
As the country’s largest and most trusted 70-year-old industry association of its kind, we’re here for your entire career in contracting.